Initial Ideas

Motherhood/Single Mother

To begin with i was planning on making the proggy mat all the same size/shape however during the crit on my research task i was asked if i would be using personal items within the pieces. This gave me the idea to use one of my old dresses i used to wear prior to being pregnant and doing the proggy technique on the stomach of the dress using strips of my sons baby clothes. I am unsure on how the technique will work with the fabric of the dress, i may have to try some other technique instead.

Anxiety 

For this piece i am thinking of making a face with widened eyes and no mouth to show how i am often unable to speak due to my anxiety. For this piece i think it would work best with the normal proggy technique with strips of fleece fabric on hessian.

Depression

For this piece i am thinking about doing the proggy technique onto a pillow case much like the motherhood piece. I was thinking of using dark colours. Currently i am undecided on what imagery i could produce for this piece.

Insomnia

For this piece i was thinking of using cut up strips of pj’s and proggying them onto hessian. the imagery i think that i will use will be an irritated eye, however this could change as the project develops.

Childlike

For this piece i was thinking of doing the regular proggy technique and creating bright and random patterns such as circles and spirals. the fleece strips would be best for this as there is many colours to choose from

Coloured Hair/Piercing/Hyperactive

I am unsure on how i could represent these aspects of me so i think i may skip out on using these. I will still try to think up ideas to use during the course of the project but i think it is unlikely that it will go further.

Leave a comment