Art Research – Lucian Freud – The painters mother IV

The painters mother IV is a painting by the artist British artist Lucian Freud using oil on canvas, the painting is one of eighteen from a series of portraits of his mother painted during the 1970’s and 1980’s. Freud started to paint his mother after the death of his father that led to his mothers depression. When I first saw this painting I really liked it as I got a real sense of sadness from the painting, upon reading about it I discovered of his mothers depression and even attempted suicide. I feel the artist really captured his mothers feelings through his use of colour and her sad expression. She is looking away from the viewer not making eye contact and I think this helps to capture her sadness. Freud used a very dull colour pallet of browns and greys that shows the depression well.

 

Leave a comment